St. Lucia Citizenship

ST LUCIA CITIZENSHIP: Citizenship is based upon the Citizenship Act of St. Lucia, dated June 5, 1979. (UKC-Commonwealth Nation)  The following categories of persons were granted St. Lucian citizenship upon the date of independence (February 22, 1979):

  • A citizen of the United Kingdom and Colonies (UKC) naturalized or registered in St. Lucia.
  • A Commonwealth citizen who resided in St. Lucia for seven years.
  • A foreign woman married to a man who was eligible for citizenship.
  • Person born in the territory of St. Lucia before February 22, 1979, who was a citizen of the UKC.
  • Person born in the territory of St. Lucia after February 22, 1979, regardless of the nationality of the parents.
  • Exception: Child born to foreign representatives or diplomats.
  • BY DESCENT: Child born abroad, before or after independence, at least one of whose parents is a citizen, or was eligible for citizenship at the time of independence.
  • REGISTRATION: A foreigner married to a citizen of St. Lucia, either living or deceased, is eligible to request citizenship by registration, subject to the approval of the government.
  • BY NATURALIZATION: St. Lucian citizenship may be acquired upon fulfillment of the following conditions: Person is of good character, is familiar with the language and customs, has resided in the country for eight years before submitting application, intends to reside in St. Lucia, and has renounced previous citizenship.



  • VOLUNTARY: Voluntary renunciation of St. Lucian citizenship is permitted by law. Contact the Embassy for details and required paperwork.
  • INVOLUNTARY: The following are grounds for involuntary loss of St. Lucian citizenship:
  • Naturalized citizenship is gained through fraud or falsehoods.
  • Citizen is convicted of treason against the government.

For more detailed information and advice on citizenship, please Contact DeltaQuest .